The Microwave Chocolate Chip Cookie

Last night we had friends over to dinner and they told me about a hilarious website called Pinterest Fail where people can post their experiences with trying things they see on Pinterest.  I hopped on the site this morning and was honestly laughing my head off at some of the experiences of the posters on Pinterest Fail.  The post where someone used melted anal suppositories in place of glycerin in a mason jar snow globe had me crying and unable to breathe.

I kept running across this microwave choco chip cookie made in a ramekin on Pinterest Fail.  After reading the ingredients my only concern was a lack of levening, and I figured that in less than 5 minutes I would be able to test this one for myself.  Here is a sample of one of the fails showing what the poster expected, and what actually occurred.

Photo from Pinterest Fail

So I gave it my best shot.  I thought this was pretty easy.  I think you need to worry if the melted butter is too hot when you add in your egg so you don’t cook the yolk.  I mixed it well after each step in a separate bowl, then put in my ramekin.

1 Tbsp melted butter, 1 Tbsp white sugar, 1 Tbsp brown sugar, 1 egg yolk, 3 drops vanilla, pinch of salt, 1/4 cup flour, 2 Tbsp chocolate chips (I actually used mini choco chips as it was all I had.)  Here are my before and after shots.

Cookie batter in ramekin cookie

I microwaved mine for 40 seconds, until it was firm to the touch.  It was really tasty.  It didn’t look quite like the photo in the original Pinterest post, because it raised quite a bit more than what is shown and it didn’t brown the same.  But it was certainly edible and gave the flavor of a chocolate chip cookie.  The texture was more cake-like, however.

After a successful round 1, I tried to do it again with an egg white (which was sitting there looking lonely) and the batter was thinner and the resultant cookie was rubbery.

This entry was posted in Indoor projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

